Home | Artists | News | Catalog | Links | About C/Z | Downloads




  Full Skyward Album

  The official Joe Bass Site
  Review from Ink 19


  For over a year, Joe Skyward (former bassist of Sky Cries Mary, the Posies and Sunny Day Real Estate) worked persistently on his first record. Initially the record was finished April 3, 1996, the day before the Posies left on tour to support their last Geffen Records release, Amazing Disgrace.

  Due to a seemingly never ending series of roadblocks along the way, the record was delayed over an entire year from the original release date. During that time, Joe re-entered the studio and emerged with several new tracks which have been integrated into the new record as you hear it today.

  In that time SKYWARD has continued to grow as a song craftsman (he prefers not to be called a "songwriter") and that growth is evident in the maturity the new songs display.

  SKYWARD is an elaborate and intricate project featuring the talents of over forty musicians including current and former members of The Posies, Hammerbox, Sky Cries Mary, Sage, 7 Year Bitch, The League of Crafty Guitarists, Low Pop Suicide, Critters Buggin', Ministry, Gigolo Aunts, Fountains of Wayne, and the Billy Tipton Memorial Saxophone Quartet, not to mention Joe's 14 year old daughter Brette.

  None of the songs here sound like any of the artists mentioned above, nor should they. Each song was developed using a distinct creative unit. There is a consistency throughout, but the feel and color changes from one song to the next make for a very exciting ride.

  The music is textured, psychedelic, and always anchored with a solid rhythm section consisting of Joe at the helm and an ever changing drummer. At times the record is jazzy, funky, sometimes swirling endlessly, and on other occasions not unlike the Golden Palominos at some of their more inspired moments. This record is more than a collection of songs, it is an entire experience.

Featured Artists:

  • 7 Year Bitch
  • Alcohol Funnycar
  • Built To Spill
  • Gerald Collier
  • Hammerbox
  • Huevos Rancheros
  • Love Battery
  • Model Rockets
  • Moonshake
  • Skin Yard
  • Skyward
  • The Gits
  • Treepeople
  • Coffin Break
  • Silkworm


    Home | Artists | News | Catalog | Links | About C/Z | Downloads | Site map
    © 2002-2019 C/Z Records. All Rights Reserved.