Home | Artists | News | Catalog | Links | About C/Z | Downloads


Coffin Break

  No Sleep 'til the Stardust Motel

  Full Rupture Album

  Coffin Break profile on MySpace
  Soundcheck on Seattle
  Pete's new band PLASTER
  CB article on Trouser Press


  To those who didn't bother to keep track of every bit of minutiae flowing from the Seattle rock scene in the early '90s, Coffin Break was a band that clung more tenaciously to their punk roots than to the metallic anthem rock which eventually was embodied by the success of Seattle bands.

Coffin Break was almost two bands living together with two distinctly different songwriters Rob Skinner (bass & vocals) and Peter Litwin (guitar, vocals) maintaining a precarious balance between pop and panic.

Skinners "Stupid Love Song" is a sardonic tongue-in-cheek punk anthem just a little to self-debasing to allow for total abandon. "Hopeless" tightens Coffin Break's grip on straightforward punk rock, while the discordant metallic intro to "Promise" sheds a bit of light on things to come.

Rupture, released in 1990 is the record that showed Coffin Break finally fully realized and polished after their first bout of constant national touring. "Vision of Never" and "Rosy Picture" pack a heavy punk-rock wallop, and Litwin's clever "Kill the President" written for Daddy Bush, is now as relevant as political protest gets. It appears that we never learned our lesson the first time.

Coffin Break went on to sign with Southern California Punk wrok stalwart; Epitaph where they released two solid releases before calling it quits in 1993.

Featured Artists:

  • 7 Year Bitch
  • Alcohol Funnycar
  • Built To Spill
  • Gerald Collier
  • Hammerbox
  • Huevos Rancheros
  • Love Battery
  • Model Rockets
  • Moonshake
  • Skin Yard
  • Skyward
  • The Gits
  • Treepeople
  • Coffin Break
  • Silkworm


    Home | Artists | News | Catalog | Links | About C/Z | Downloads | Site map
    © 2002-2019 C/Z Records. All Rights Reserved.